09
Aug
08

Our Thompson Brothers Runabout Part 5 – The State of Ohio vs Jones – Part Two

When we last left each others company I was bemoaning the way the State of Ohio deals with boats and the registrations thereof.  Let continue the voyage…shall we?

So The motor is now titled and in my name.  But to title a boat in Ohio it must be not less than 13 feet 11and15/16th inches in length.  If it is uder 14 feet, no title is needed.

After having the Watercraft Division “officially” measure the boat to 13′ 6″ and send me CORRECTED paperwork, they also suggested I register the vessel as historical.  This entails a one time fee of $25.00 and then the registration numbers are good unless the boat is taken to another state.  The regitrations numbers can be transfered to a new owner for a nominal 10 bucks.  The catch: You can then only use the boat in parades and for special event like an antique automobile.  However, if you pay the regular registration fee of 30+ bucks and the 25 dollar historical registration fee, you may use your boat at any time.  Well we thought it would be nice to do this old lady the honor of being registered as historic.

I sent a check for 60 dollars, and all the paperwork given me by the Watercraft Department, in to the main office in Columbus.  I waited a week, and followed up via voice mail with the lady who handles historical registrations.  No return call ever, no response.  Typical and expected.

Then on Thursday this week I received in the mail the envelope from the Watercraft folks.  I was very excited to find out what our little boats numbers would be.  I could place an order for custom lettering.  Oh BOY!!!

I held my breath and opened the envelope…and pulled out…MY CHECK AND ANOTHER FORM THAT NEEDED TO BE FILLED OUT.  Whats this!?!  ANOTHER FORM!?!?  EGADS!  HOW MANY FORMS MUST BE INVOLVED IN THIS!?!?  AND WORSE YET…IT CONTAINED A REQUEST FOR ALL THE SAME INFORMATION THAT THE WATERCRAFT OFFICE HAD FILL IN ON HIS FORM!

What to do?

I called the HQ in Columbus and of course got voice mail AGAIN!  I left a stern and firm message that I was not happy my earlier call was not returned and was not happy that this was occuring.  I WANT A RETURN PHONE CALL THIS TIME!

After thinking about it, since we were going to pay the normal 30+bucks for normal use of the boat, I decided…hell with it…and off to the license bureau to get this thing registered!

I went to the license bureau and waited maybe 20 minutes to get to the counter, and was greeted by a lovely young lady.  I explained I have a bill of sale and the “official report” from the Watercraft Dept. proving my boat was not 14 feet, but was 13′ 6″ and could be licensed without a title as there was no need for title on boats under 14 feet.

The young lady looked over the paperwork and said…”I’ll be right back”.  An ominous sign.  (Only and orchestra of cellos playing in the background was missing as the storm was brewing in my mind.)

The young lady reappeared, took my paperwork back to her bosses office and Xerox-ed everything I presented her.  She then came back to the counter and handed me the very same form that was mailed from Columbus and asked me to fill it out.  I enquired why it was necessary given that the same info was already filled out by an officer from a state agency.  She said “That’s the rules.”

No arguing that logic.

I filled out the form and handed it back to her…smiling as best as I could.  Then the “payoff line came”.  (No pun intended.)

“That’ll be 33.00.”

I pulled out my checkbook since I knew my auto license and boat trailer license was not able to paid for with credit or debit cards in the State of Ohio.  Being so wise about these matters, I had fortuitously brought my checkbook with me.  HA!  I’m ready to pay-up.!

The nice young lady looked at me and said words I’d been longing to hear: “We only take cash for boat transaction…”

Huh!?!  Only cash?  But…but…BUT I BROUGHT MY CHECKBOOK!  I was off my rocker now.

I digress, some of my friends over the years, my wife, my family, have all seen me off my rocker.  The stories are legendary.  I’m not proud of this fact…really.  But at some point when the line is crossed…I get a little irritable.  The moment had now arrived on this delightful Thursday afternoon.  The line was now crossed, and the conversation was as follows.

Greg: You don’t take checks?

Girl: Not for boat licenses.

Greg: You take checks for cars.  You take checks for state ID’s, and driver licenses.  You even took my check for my BOAT TRAILER!  Why would you not take a check for the boat that goes on that very same trailer!?!?!?!

Girl: I don’t make the rules but we don’t take checks.  Cash only.

Greg: But I didn’t bring cash with me.  Before I beat you up verbally any further, perhaps your boss would like to come out and explain this to me.

The young lady looks to her boss who by now has heard a bit of a stern and irriatable voice from her office door…in which she is now standing.

Greg:  Are you the boss?  Come over here please and tell me why you don’t take a check for boats.

Boss:  That’s the rules.  Cash only for boats.

Greg: (Now really wound up.  People in the background, in line beginning to titter a bit as the scene unfolds.)  SoooooOOOOO…THE STATE OF OHIO HAS NOT GOTTEN THE TECHNOLOGY TO ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS TO DATE.  YOU HAVE THE TECHNOLOGY TO TAKE CHECKS, BUT WON’T FOR A BOAT.  NO…YOU MUST HAVE CASH.  CASH.  CASH…THE ONE THING I NEVER REALLY WALK AROUND WITH ANYMORE BECAUSE EVERYONE ON THE CRUST OF MOTHER EARTH TAKES A CREDIT CARD…EXCEPT YOU!  KNOWING THAT LITTLE TID-BIT, I BROUGHT A CHECK BOOK WITH ME…WHICH I ALSO NORMALLY DON’T CARRY.

I STOOD IN LINE FOR 20 MINUTES, NOW I MUST GO TO THE ATM TO GET CASH.  HERE’S WHAT I’M GONNA DO.  I’M GOING TO THE ATM AND GET TWO 20.00 BILLS SINCE THE ATM CANNOT DISPENSE 33 DOLLAR BILLS.  I’M ASSUMING THIS DMV CAN MAKE CHANGE.  RIGHT!?!

Girl: Yes.

Greg: GOOD.  I WILL RETURN WITH TO FRESHLY DISPENSED 20 DOLLAR BILLS WHICH WE WILL THEN EXCHANGE MY TWO TWENTIES FOR ONE BOAT REGISTRATION AND SEVEN DOLLARS IN ONES, TWO ONES AND A FIVE, OR ANY OTHER COMBINATION OF LEGAL TENDER AUTHORIZED BY THE STATE OF OHIO DMV.  (Calming down a bit.)  Now when I come back from the ATM…I’m sure you will want to end our relationship fairly swiftly, as it has been unpleasant for us both.  Therefore you won’t mind if I DON’T STAND IN LINE for another 20 minutes and just hand you the money, you hand me the change and registration.

Boss and Girl: That’ll be fine.  Thank you.

Customer at next window:  You think a boat is tough, try to get a conceal and carry permit.

Greg to customer:  I’ll probably need it for the flare gun in my safety kit.

(Laughter now breaks out in the line.)

Off to the ATM.  I return, and we consumate my privelege to legally operate my boat with a formal and legal registration in exchange for CASH!

I love a government with layers of burearacy.

As to the boat, the final coat of varnish went on the deck today.  Stainless steel botls, washer, and nuts were purchased for the instalation of all hardware.  We cleaned the inside with soap and water and even found a few very minor leaks.  Mostly just seams that need to swell closed again, but nothing major.

The gas cans are being professionally primed and then I will paint and decal them in their original Johnson Mile-Master scheme.  Rebuild kits are on the way for the gas cans as well.

Te motor should be done at the shop mid-next week, and we’ll be ready to hit the water by the target date of August 23rd, 2008 for the boat show in Toledo.  More on the boat as it develops.

Thanks for chekcing in.

0 Responses to “Our Thompson Brothers Runabout Part 5 – The State of Ohio vs Jones – Part Two”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

