02
Nov
08

It’s been a long long time…

Well let’s see.  I didn’t know it had been so long since I posted something.  The reason of course is now that our little Thompson boat is finished, I’ve been leaving my carbon footprints on the waterways around Toledo more than 3 times a week on average.

It has been a delightful little boat, that gets a lot of attention where ever it goes.

To catch up a bit, I acquired two 1956 Johnson 20hp motors with a custom built steel rolling stand and all the technical manuals from a fellow I met at the Toledo Boat show back in August.  He said he wanted to get them out of his garage, which translated in male talk to…we bought a boat my wife is happy with and she wants them gone.

Now the process begins to rebuild them.  I had been told one was seized up, and found only the recoil, or pull start was standing in the way of freedom for the pistons.  So now it is going to be restored as well. 

The other is a coveted Johnson Javelin 30HP.  It was made only in 1956, so there are few around.  I managed to find not only the chrome face plate/cover that was missing, ut two on Ebay.  I used the spare for trading purposes.  Also two guys came up with a pair of missing Javelin logos, brand new I might add.  Never used!  Amazing!

The Javelin is torn down and at the paint shop.  Hopefully it will turn out something like the photo below when finished.

 

 

Or better yet, imagine my wife and I out for a nice summer evening or cruising in our best party attire.

Alright, maybe a little far fetched, but a wonderful dream ad.

Otherwise things are still status quo. 

The job is good.  Still working for the railroad as well, and will probably begin working both jobs from the middle of November to end of December.  Extra $$ for the holidays.

I’ll write more later, but wanted to at least get something on here until it becomes part of the routine.

Greg

2 Responses to “It’s been a long long time…”


  1. 1 Steve
    February 26, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Sign of the Times

    I have to laugh at the old johnson advert with the guy standing next to his wife with a cigarette
    in his hand.
    mmmmm petrol and cigarettes ? don’t exactly promote boating safety LOL


Leave a Reply

